Immigration experts in Australia & NZ

New Zealand and Australia have one of the most powerful passports in the world


If you hold a New Zealand or an Australian passport, you have one of the most influential documents in the world, according to the latest Henley Passport Index.

The Index is compiled by London-based investment migration consultancy firm Henley & Partners, which uses data from the International Air Transport Authority (IATA) to assess 199 passports and rank them according to the number of destinations their holders can access without a visa.

Japan is at the top of the list, allowing visa-free entry to 193 destinations around the world, just ahead of Singapore and South Korea whose citizens can freely visit 192 countries, followed by Germany and Spain in equal third.


Top 10 powerful passports in 2023

  1. Japan (193 destinations)
  2. Singapore and South Korea (192 destinations)
  3. Germany and Spain (190 destinations)
  4. Finland, Italy, and Luxembourg (189 destinations)
  5. Austria, Denmark, Netherlands, and Sweden (188 destinations)
  6. France, Ireland, Portugal, and the United Kingdom (187 destinations)
  7. New Zealand, Belgium, Czech Republic, Norway, Switzerland, and the United States (186 destinations)
  8. Australia, Canada, Greece, and Malta (185 destinations)
  9. Hungary and Poland (184 destinations)
  10. Lithuania and Slovakia (183 destinations)


Where can New Zealanders and Australians travel without a visa?

New Zealand passport holders can travel to 186 countries and Australians have access to 185 international destinations without needing to first apply for a visa, or they are able to obtain a visa, visitor’s permit, or an electronic travel authority (ETA) upon arrival.

In Europe, fifty countries allow New Zealand citizens to travel without a visa and 49 destinations can be freely visited by Australians, such as the United Kingdom, Italy, Spain, Switzerland, France, and Germany.

More than ten destinations in Asia don’t require Australians and New Zealanders to have a visa to enter, such as Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore, and Thailand. Similar numbers in the Caribbean, including Barbados, the Cayman Islands, Curacao, and Jamaica.

In the Americas, twenty countries don’t require Australians and New Zealanders to have a visa to enter, such as Colombia, Argentina, Brazil, and Mexico. The United States and Canada are some of the countries where they can get an ETA upon entry.


If you are planning to apply for your New Zealand or Australian citizenship and obtain one of these powerful passports or need further information, please email to arrange an online consultation.

Get in touch

For any questions or assistance, contact our friendly team of qualified experts.

Sign up for Newsletter

Subscribe today and stay connected. Enjoy a newsfeed that’s tailored your specific situation.